The Premier of the province is paid a salary of \$16,600 a year and each of the other members of the Cabinet \$15,600. Members of the Legislature are each paid a sessional indemnity of \$7,200 and a tax-free expense allowance of \$2,400. Each member attending the session and representing a constituency that is not wholly within the Winnipeg metropolitan area receives an additional allowance of \$600 for expenses incidental to the discharge of his duties as member. The Leader of the Opposition is paid \$15,600. The Speaker of the Legislative Assembly receives an additional indemnity of \$5,000 and expenses not exceeding \$1,000 in aggregate. The Deputy Speaker receives an additional indemnity of \$2,500 and expenses not exceeding \$500 in aggregate. Members required to live away from home receive a per diem allowance of \$15 from the opening of the session to prorogation excepting days during an adjournment of the Assembly for a period of four or more continuous days.

The Executive Council of Manitoba as at December 31, 1973

Premier, President of the Council, Minister for Urban Affairs, Minister of Dominion-Provincial Relations, Minister responsible for Manitoba Hydro, Hon. Edward Schreyer

Minister of Finance, Hon. Saul M. Cherniack Minister of Labour, Minister responsible for the Civil Service Act, the Civil Service Superannuation Act and the Public Servants Insurance Act, Hon. Russell Paulley

Minister of Mines, Resources and Environmental Management and Minister responsible for the administration of the Development Corporation Act, Hon. Sidney Green

Minister of Agriculture and Minister of Co-operative Development, Hon. Samuel Uskiw

Minister of Health and Social Development and Minister responsible for the Manitoba Housing and Renewal Corporation, Hon. Saul A. Miller Minister of Tourism, Recreation and Cultural Affairs and Minister responsible for Health, Education and Social Policy, Hon. René Toupin Minister of Industry and Commerce, Hon. Leonard Evans

Minister of Highways, Hon. Peter Burtniak Attorney General and Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. Howard R. Pawley

Minister of Education and Minister of Colleges and Universities Affairs, Hon. Ben Hanuschak

Minister of Public Works, Hon. Russell Doern Minister of Northern Affairs, Hon. Ronald McBryde

Minister of Consumer, Corporate and Internal Services and Minister responsible for Manitoba Telephone System, Hon. Ian Turnbull

Minister responsible for Manitoba Public Insurance Corporation and Minister responsible for Motor Vehicle Branch, Hon. Billie Uruski.

3.3.1.8 Saskatchewan

The government of Saskatchewan consists of a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. Since February 3, 1970 the Honourable Stephen Worobetz has been Lieutenant Governor. The statutory number of members of the Legislative Assembly is 60, elected for a maximum term of five years. At the general election June 23, 1971, 45 New Democrats and 15 Liberals were elected to form Saskatchewan's 17th Legislature, which opened July 28, 1971 and is still in session.

The Premier receives \$20,000 and each Cabinet Minister \$15,000 annually in addition to a sessional indemnity and allowance. The Leader of the Opposition receives \$15,000 plus an office allowance of \$24,000 per annum, the Speaker \$5,000 and the Deputy Speaker \$3,000.

Each member of the Legislature is paid a sessional indemnity of \$6,000, an expense allowance of \$4,000 and a sessional allowance of \$2,500. Each of the members for the three northernmost constituencies of Prince Albert East, Athabasca and Meadow Lake receives a \$6,500 sessional indemnity and a \$3,750 expense allowance. Government and Opposition Whips are paid an annual allowance of \$1,000 each and legislative secretaries an annual allowance of \$3,000 each.

The Executive Council of Saskatchewan as at December 31, 1973

Premier and President of the Council, Hon. A.E. Blakeney

Attorney General, Hon. R.J. Romanow
Minister of Agriculture, Hon. J.R. Messer
Minister of Public Health, Hon. W.E. Smishek
Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. E.I. Wood
Minister of Labour, Hon. G.T. Snyder
Minister of Northern Saskatchewan, Hon. G.R.
Bowerman

Minister of the Environment, Hon. N.E. Byers

Minister of Education, Hon. G. MacMurchy Minister of Highways and Transportation, Hon. E. Kramer

Minister of Government Services, Hon. J.E. Brockelbank

Minister of Industry and Commerce, Hon. K. Thorson

Minister of Social Services, Hon. A. Taylor Minister of Mineral Resources, Hon. E. Cowley